Home

 
     HOME     ARTICLES     Frank DAIGNAULT     TROPHY RIGS     CONTENTS     FAQs     FLY FISHING     OFF ROAD 4 X 4     STRIPED BASS    SURFCASTING
 
Go Back   StriperSurf Forums > The Frat House > Computers, etc

Computers, etc Computers, Networking, Printers, Electronics, TV's, SAT Radio, iPods and why you too hate Microsoft.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2007, 09:32 PM
Bob D'Amico's Avatar
Bob D'Amico Bob D'Amico is offline
Publisher, StriperSurf
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Franklin Park, NJ
Posts: 20,492
Question PC Memory Help, Please

My Dell 8400 PC has 3 GB RAM, 2x512MB Original RAM installed by Dell,
2x1GB RAM from Crucial.

Maximum RAM for a Dell 8400 is 4GB

Just removed the 2x512MB sticks and replaced with a matched pair of 1GB modules.
A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)



BIOS shows 4 x 1 GB - Total 4 GB - Correct

Installed the correct RAM modules for my machine, identical pairs.

Windows XP shows "3GB RAM"

Windows is "ignoring" a 1 GB module?? How the hell is that possible?

Last edited by Bob D'Amico : 04-03-2007 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2007, 10:28 PM
SAOSIN's Avatar
SAOSIN SAOSIN is offline
SS/Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,677
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Read this Bob:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888137/en-us

I had the same issue w/ my Dell last fall when I upgraded to 4gb. Fixed it for me.
__________________


Member - Jersey Shore Surfcasters
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2007, 10:41 PM
SAOSIN's Avatar
SAOSIN SAOSIN is offline
SS/Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,677
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Actually, Didn't totally fix it for me. It just basically gave me an explanation for why it was happening.

Try turning off the page file. 4gb will show after that.

Right click on 'My Computer'
Click 'Advanced'
Goto settings under 'Performance'
Click the advanced tab
Click on 'Change' under virtual memory

Finally:
Click 'No Paging File'
Click 'Set'
Click 'Ok' then restart

Worked like a charm for me
__________________


Member - Jersey Shore Surfcasters
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:45 AM
jschlesi jschlesi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: RI
Posts: 8
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Try just putting in one chip and booting up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:04 PM
Rickman's Avatar
Rickman Rickman is offline
SS/Platinum
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Deposit, MD
Posts: 219
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Bob, Got this off of a motherboard site I visit where someone had posted basically the same question.

"You need a 64 bit OS and CPU + board to get 4GB fully recognised.
Some rumoured that updating of Windows Critical Updates for unblocking the Logical Addressing bit helps to unlock the full potential for a 32bit OS, but I really can't tell you how true it is, neither can I say if anyone has come here and say he/she has done it, nor if there was this update at all in the 1st place".
__________________
"John 14:6"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:10 PM
Bob D'Amico's Avatar
Bob D'Amico Bob D'Amico is offline
Publisher, StriperSurf
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Franklin Park, NJ
Posts: 20,492
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

jschlesi - I will give that a try.

Paul, followed your excellent instructions as well as read the info on Microsoft.

I can see a performance improvement. However this is weird. Check out these two screen shots:



__________________
Bob D'Amico

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:21 PM
Bob D'Amico's Avatar
Bob D'Amico Bob D'Amico is offline
Publisher, StriperSurf
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Franklin Park, NJ
Posts: 20,492
Question Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Do these tell us anything?



__________________
Bob D'Amico

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:24 PM
Jess's Avatar
Jess Jess is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Berkeley Township
Posts: 9,502
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

From what I have seen in xp & 2000 1GB is good, add anther and you will see a slight improvement. Above that your waisting your $$.

Bob it looks like if you want faster it's time for duo core processor 64 bit OS.
__________________
Guns, Guts and God made this Country
Lets not lose any of them!

----------------------------------------------------
Untied we Stand
Divided we will Fall!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2007, 02:48 PM
SAOSIN's Avatar
SAOSIN SAOSIN is offline
SS/Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,677
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Jess: You'll be surprised w/ the improvements 3gb will do for processing graphics through multiple tasks. I only had 4gb because of playing PC games. That I had so I can load server files & download game maps at a faster pace.

My Ex Custom PC:
3.2Ghz Intel P4, 2MB L2 Cache, w/ Dual Nvidia 6800 GT's, & 4GB Ram.

My Macbook Pro has:
2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 4MB on-chip shared L2 cache running 1:1 with processor speed, ATI Radeon X1600 256MB, & 2GB Ram.

The graphics on my Mac are a hell of a lot more crisp, But the PC definitely processed faster w/ the 4GB.

Bob: Are all the cards DDR2?
__________________


Member - Jersey Shore Surfcasters
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2007, 02:50 PM
chris c's Avatar
chris c chris c is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Union County,NJ USA
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

That's a little wierd Bob.. If it's showing in the system information I'd say that windows sees the RAM properly. Can't explain why it only shows the 3GB of RAM unter the properties page... Have you run a Dell DX on the system just for the RAM?

There are also a few memory sites online that will perform a RAM check of your computer.
Here's a link for one at crucial.com..
http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/
__________________
O&A party rocks-XM Satalite Radio Channel 202
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:38 PM
Bob D'Amico's Avatar
Bob D'Amico Bob D'Amico is offline
Publisher, StriperSurf
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Franklin Park, NJ
Posts: 20,492
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Thanks Chris, I use Cruscial all the time should have thought about doing that already.

I think I see an issue, the scan shows the 4GB of RAM.

2 x 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300 purchased from Crucial

2 x 1GB DDR2 PC2-4100 just purchased from Newegg.

The Newegg RAM is advertised as PC2-6400! My Dell Manual says:

Quote:
If you install mixed pairs of DDR2 400-MHz (PC2-3200) and DDR2 533-MHz (PC2-4200) memory, the modules function at the slowest speed installed.
It may be no big deal but I'm calling Newegg on Thursday for an RMA, I ordered PC2-6400.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Bob D'Amico

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-2007, 12:00 PM
chris c's Avatar
chris c chris c is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Union County,NJ USA
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Anytime Bob...
__________________
O&A party rocks-XM Satalite Radio Channel 202
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2007, 01:20 PM
purplebatwings purplebatwings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Red Bank
Posts: 54
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

I heard recently that XP will only use up to a max of 3GB and you need to upgrade to Vista to use all 4GB's. So the system might recognize the 4 but only use 3. Can't really say for sure since I'm not a compter tech. Can anyone confirm this? I was thinking of upgrading RAM as well have room for four but I run XP pro.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-05-2007, 02:11 PM
chris c's Avatar
chris c chris c is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Union County,NJ USA
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

Found this online... Also verified it on the Micrsoft site...

Windows XP Professional 64-bit edition, on the other hand, supports up to 128GB of physical RAM and 16TB (terabytes) of virtual memory. Currently, I'm unaware of any consumer-focused motherboards that can handle more than 4GB..

4GB or physical RAM is fine running Windows XP Pro SP2... Most home motherboards usually handle up to 4GB of RAM.. Over that you're looking at a motherboard made for a server which can handle XXXXX RAM...

Once you get to 3GB you won't notice a difference. Also, if you're installing 3-4GB or RAM you should change the boot.ini file for the virtual RAM... It's default set to 2GB but you can change the switch to /3GB... This will allow you to use more Virtual RAM which should help you see a difference... See below:
Windows XP Professional and Windows Server 2003 Memory Support. The maximum amount of memory that can be supported on Windows XP Professional and Windows Server 2003 is also 4 GB. However, Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition supports 32 GB of physical RAM and Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition supports 64 GB of physical RAM using the PAE feature.

The virtual address space of processes and applications is still limited to 2 GB unless the /3GB switch is used in the Boot.ini file. When the physical RAM in the system exceeds 16 GB and the /3GB switch is used, the operating system will ignore the additional RAM until the /3GB switch is removed. This is because of the increased size of the kernel required to support more Page Table Entries. The assumption is made that the administrator would rather not lose the /3GB functionality silently and automatically; therefore, this requires the administrator to explicitly change this setting.

The /3GB switch allocates 3 GB of virtual address space to an application that uses IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE in the process header. This switch allows applications to address 1 GB of additional virtual address space above 2 GB.

The virtual address space of processes and applications is still limited to 2 GB, unless the /3GB switch is used in the Boot.ini file. The following example shows how to add the /3GB parameter in the Boot.ini file to enable application memory tuning:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="????" /3GB


Hope this helps...

So when do we open up the Computer forum Bob?
__________________
O&A party rocks-XM Satalite Radio Channel 202
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-05-2007, 09:20 PM
CarpenterSteve's Avatar
CarpenterSteve CarpenterSteve is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bellmore, NY USA
Posts: 7,157
Default Re: PC Memory Help, Please

I can remember the days when a 4 gig HDD was massive, and 50 Meg's of Ram set you back around $1K.

I often wonder just what performance would be like if software engineers were at all concerned about system resources.....
__________________


The Pickens Plan

"Democratic civilization is the first in history to blame itself because another power is trying to destroy it" - Jean-Francois Revel

Steve

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line Memory Colinr0124 Ask Shore Catch Guides 3 05-02-2006 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2016 StriperSurf.com, All Rights Reserved