Home

HOME     ARTICLES     Frank DAIGNAULT     TROPHY RIGS     CONTENTS     FAQs     FLY FISHING     OFF ROAD 4 X 4     STRIPED BASS    SURFCASTING

Go Back   StriperSurf Forums > Main Forums > MAIN FORUM

MAIN FORUM We want You! - This is the place for general discussion of fishing for striped bass, bluefish, albies, weakfish, etc.

Old 11-23-2008, 09:07 PM

Smile knots

I've been asking a lot of questions lately. I'm kind of new at surf fishing. Years ago did blackfishing from the jetties. Back to the surf. Bought a TICA 9' Dolphin 1-3oz and matched it up with a Quantum Cabo PT 40 with 20lb braided line, yesterday. Took it out today, no fish, but enjoyed casting it.

Do I use a perfection loop on the teaser line to connect with the dropper loop? Learning all these knots. Lots of fun.
Old 11-23-2008, 09:21 PM
Team SS '08,SS/Insider

Default Re: knots

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakhurstclay View Post

Do I use a perfection loop on the teaser line to connect with the dropper loop? Learning all these knots. Lots of fun.
If you want to be able to change teasers quickly that will work fine. The perfection loop is what I use for my fly leaders. When I fish teasers the dropper loop is where I connect to my main line then the short tag is were I tie the teaser.
Old 11-23-2008, 09:23 PM

A lot of folks do, since it can make changing or replacing the teaser easier.
Old 11-23-2008, 09:29 PM

Thanks. Just as I thought
Old 11-24-2008, 06:29 AM
SS/Veteran

Yes thats a good knot.
Thats a good way to present the teaser. Do not tie the dropper loop too small. Some times when I am not getting hit I will take off the teaser leader and loop the teaser right off the dropper loop (when no blue present). It provides less visual 'mess'. Sometimes it works.