Home

 
     HOME     ARTICLES     Frank DAIGNAULT     TROPHY RIGS     CONTENTS     FAQs     FLY FISHING     OFF ROAD 4 X 4     STRIPED BASS    SURFCASTING
 
Go Back   StriperSurf Forums > The Frat House > Computers, etc

Computers, etc Computers, Networking, Printers, Electronics, TV's, SAT Radio, iPods and why you too hate Microsoft.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:57 PM
tonymo tonymo is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 174
Default system restore

I had taken my laptop to Best Buy for a new display a couple of weeks ago and asked them to check out what was causing it to run a little slow. they said a restore and tweak would do it. To make a long story short, I purchased a registry fix program and made some adjustments to my security. This did help. What I need to know is if I do a restore from my recovery disks, and knock out my data, then use my ex. hard drive, would that bring me back to the settings that were hindering me in the first place? What is it that geek squad does to "tweak" and restore? The computer was originally configured by them. I tried googling the subject but did'nt find what I wanted. Worse comes to worse, I'll just cough up the 2 bills and have em take care of it. Thank's in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:06 PM
Jess's Avatar
Jess Jess is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Berkeley Township
Posts: 9,419
Default Re: system restore

Registry fix programs general cause more harm then good IMO. I never use them.

I'm not sure what you asking about using the old drive.

General what slows down an OS is Spyware/ Addware.
Most repair shops clean your system of this crap to improve your speed.
However if it is too far gone then it's cheaper to format and do a fesh install due to the time VS $$ factor.

If your going to do the fresh install your going to need the windows cd unless they have it installed on another partition on your drive. Seems most of the store units have some sort of a restore feature build into the boot up profile.
Keep in mind you will loose all your old data when doing a format/ install. But you will have a brand new OS to screw up again.

The other way is to try and clean it yourself.
A few good free programs to use are:
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html

Note: When running these get all the updates for them first.
Also it's best to turn off system restore while cleaning your system.
And Spybot I would run in safemode first.

There are other programs you can use but these are the first 2 I turn too.
If they can't clean your system you will at least know what problem your dealing with then attack it from there for that specif problem.

May the force be with you on your quest for lost speed.
__________________
Guns, Guts and God made this Country
Lets not lose any of them!

----------------------------------------------------
Untied we Stand
Divided we will Fall!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:43 PM
tonymo tonymo is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 174
Default Re: system restore

Thank's! When I said ex., I meant external hard drive, which is my back up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:51 AM
Bob D'Amico's Avatar
Bob D'Amico Bob D'Amico is offline
Publisher, StriperSurf
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: Franklin Park, NJ
Posts: 20,487
Default Re: system restore

If you have an official MS Windows CD you can easily do a Clean Install on your own. You may not have received one with your laptop/desktop.

This web site has step by step instructions on a clean installation procedure.

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...p_sg_clean.asp
__________________
Bob D'Amico

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:36 AM
tonymo tonymo is offline
SS/Insider
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 174
Default Re: system restore

Thank's Bob, No I did not recieve an offical windows cd. My recovery disks were created when I first bought my computer home from the store. As far as cleaning up, at first I used Norton and presently running Trend Micro.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anchor system specs fishinDan Kayak Fishing 3 09-05-2007 08:28 AM
Discrimi-Nav - New Auto GPS system Bob D'Amico Margaritaville 0 01-07-2007 12:22 PM
In need of a voice mail system Kings over Queens MAIN FORUM 16 12-31-2003 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2016 StriperSurf.com, All Rights Reserved