Sister site - TrophyRigs.com

· Home · Articles · Books · Contents · Forums · Fly Fishing · Striped Bass · Surf Casting · Trophy Rigs
| | | | | | |



Military (Universal) Time Conversion

USNO Eastern US Master Clock requires Netscape USNO Pacific US Master Clock requires Netscape USNO UTC Master Clock; requires Netscape
USNO Master Clocks for FireFox & Chrome Browsers Only


UTC is Universal or Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)
as measured from the Prime Meridian at Greenwich, United Kingdom.
The official military, aviation and navigational designation for Greenwich is ZULU.

Input Military/UTC time (ex. 2145)

Input P.M. time: : P.M.

Input A.M. time: : A.M.

Military or Universal time is easy to understand after a little practice. There is no AM or PM, the day is divided into 24 hour segments.

The simplest and quickest way to calculate military time when you are just learning it is to understand that all numbers higher than 1200 constitute PM.

The next time you are watching a movie and a soldier says its "2235 hours" use simple subtraction to find civilian time: 2235 - 1200 = 10:35 PM.

Military = Civilian Military = Civilian
0001 = 12:01 AM 1200 = 12 Noon
0100 = 1:00 AM 1300 = 1:00 PM
0200 = 2:00 AM 1400 = 2:00 PM
0300 = 3:00 AM 1500 = 3:00 PM
0400 = 4:00 AM 1600 = 4:00 PM
0500 = 5:00 AM 1700 = 5:00 PM
0600 = 6:00 AM 1800 = 6:00 PM
0700 = 7:00 AM 1900 = 7:00 PM
0800 = 8:00 AM 2000 = 8:00 PM
0900 = 9:00 AM 2100 = 9:00 PM
1000 = 10:00 AM 2200 = 10:00 PM
1100 = 11:00 AM 2300 = 11:00 PM
1200 = 12 Noon 0000 = 12 Midnight
Military Letter Codes + Time Zones
CODE   Name City GMT Offset Local Time
Z ZULU Greenwich, UK GMT + 0 00:00
East of Prime Meridian at Greenwich, UK
A ALPHA Paris GMT + 1 01:00
B BRAVO Athens GMT + 2 02:00
C CHARLIE Moscow GMT + 3 03:00
D DELTA Kabul GMT + 4 04:00
E ECHO New Delhi GMT + 5 05:00
F FOXTROT Rangoon GMT + 6 06:00
G GOLF Bangkok GMT + 7 07:00
H HOTEL Beijing GMT + 8 08:00
I INDIA Tokyo GMT + 909:00
J JULLIET LOCAL TIME N/AN/A
K KILO Brisbane GMT + 10 10:00
L LIMA Sydney GMT + 11 11:00
M MIKE Wellington, NZ GMT + 12 12:00
West of Prime Meridian at Greenwich, UK
N NOVEMBER Azores GMT - 1 23:00
O OSCAR Rio De Janiero GTM - 2 22:00
P PAPA Buenos Aires GMT - 3 21:00
Q QUEBEC Halifax GMT - 4 20:00
R ROMEO New York GMT - 5 19:00
S SIERRA Chicago GMT - 6 18:00
T TANGO Denver GMT - 7 17:00
U UNIFORM San Francisco GMT - 8 16:00
V VICTOR Anchorage GMT - 9 15:00
W WHISKY Hawaii GMT - 10 14:00
X XRAY Wellington GMT - 11 13:00
Y YANKEE Fiji GMT - 12 12:00

Official US Time Clock
US Naval Observatory - Master Clock

Trophy Rigs
Google Home Page 
 
Custom Tied Trophy Rigs
IGFA Wounded Warrior Project
NJ Beach Buggy Association

Books by Frank Daignault